Getting caught driving on a suspended license in Florida can lead to arrest and jail time. In most cases, before the license suspension is effective, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will mail you a letter that notifies you of the reason for the suspension and when it will be imposed. Suspended License. The Law Offices of Matt E. Ladd, Coral Gables, can defend your privilege to drive.
Your Florida Driver’s License can be suspended for a lot of reasons:
- Were you in an accident and didn’t have proof of property damage liability insurance?
- Did you receive too many points?
- Was a judgment entered against you for damages that were caused by someone driving your car?
- Did you forget to pay or request a hearing when you received a simple speeding ticket or another traffic ticket.
- Were you found guilty of driving with a suspended license more than two times?
- Are you a habitual traffic offender?
- Did you get caught driving on a court-ordered suspension like when you get a DUI or are convicted of possession of marijuana? In most cases, you can un-suspend your license. In other cases, you may be able to get a work permit. Call today for a free license review and get started on your way back behind the wheel. Driving on a Suspended License FAQ’s
- Where can I check to see if my license is suspended? Click Here
- Is a ticket for a suspended license is just like any other ticket?
No, driving on a suspended license after the DHSMV sent a notice (even if you did not receive the notice) is a Criminal charge.
• What’s the worst that could happen?
A first violation carries a maximum fine of $500 and 60 days in jail. A second violation can result in up to one year in jail, and a third violation can result in a sentence of 5 years in prison.
• What if my license was suspended for failing to pay child support?
There are options available that could result in getting the case dismissed without fines, court costs or jail.
• What if I just forgot to pay for my ticket and that’s why my license is suspended.
If you act fast enough, we can probably just pay a $16 late fee and get positioned to get the case dismissed.
• Q: What is an FR Suspension?
A: The insurance companies tell the Department of Motor Vehicles when you forget to make a payment on your policy. The DHSMV will then notify you that they are going to suspend your license. Most of the time we can resolve the suspension by getting your insurance.
• What if the suspension is because I didn’t finish traffic school after electing to go instead of setting the ticket for trial?
Usually, we can request that a judge give you some more time to finish the traffic school and then dismiss the suspension.
• What does it mean to be a Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO)?
One of the most common ways of becoming a designated “Habitual Traffic Offender” is by getting convicted of driving on a suspended license three times in a five-year period. If you are suspended for qualifying as a habitual traffic offender there are options available to allow you to drive before the five-year suspension is completed. You could even evaluate your driver’s history and determine if a conviction should be vacated and set aside.
• Can an officer arrest me for driving on a suspended license?
Yes. They are authorized to take you to jail, search your car and belongings, and you may have to post a bond.
• Should I just pay my overdue speeding ticket?
If you failed to pay a moving violation and your license is designated to become suspended paying your ticket will result in points. If you get too many points you can lose your license for a year.
The Law Offices of Matt E. Ladd, Coral Gables, is a full-service law firm assisting those in need of criminal or civil representation in both State and Federal Courts throughout Florida.
Call us at (305) 665-3978 or click here to send us a message and a delegate will be in contact for your free consultation.